Partner and co-founder of HLD

Jean-Bernard Lafonta is a leader in the world of finance in France. He worked at the Lazard Bank, BNP Paribas and Wendel Investissement, where he was the Chairman of the Executive Board. He is currently the Co-Founder and Partner of HLD Group.

His career

An alumni of the Ecole Polytechnique and Engineer from the corps des Mines of Paris, Jean-Bernard Lafonta started his career as an engineer at Jeumont-Schneider. He joined the cabinets of Ministers Michel Delebarre and Ségolène Royal. In 1993, Bruno Roger integrated him within Lazard Bank, where he made his first steps in the investment banking world. In 1996, he joined Michel Pébereau as Director of Strategy for BNP Paribas, taking over as the Head of BNP Capital Markets and President of the Banque Directe in 2000.

In 2001, he became CEO of Wendel Investissement, a family owned Investment Company. Inspired by major international investment firms, he adapted the group’s policy and orientated it towards more promising, majority control long-term investments, thus increasing the results and the share that is multiplied by seven in only six years. His first successes carry him to chair the Corporate Executive Board in 2005.

Co-Fondateur et Associé d'HLD

Jean-Bernard Lafonta est une personnalité française du monde de la finance. Dirigeant successivement au sein de la banque Lazard, de BNP Paribas, puis de Wendel Investissement dont il a été président du directoire, il est actuellement un des co-fondateurs et Associé du Groupe HLD.

Sa carrière

Jean-Bernard Lafonta commence sa carrière comme ingénieur chez Jeumont-Schneider, puis rejoint les cabinets ministériels de Michel Delebarre et Ségolène Royal, dans les gouvernements de gauche sous François Mitterrand. Bruno Roger le fait venir à la banque Lazard en 1993 où il fait ses premiers pas dans la banque d’affaires avant de rejoindre en 1996 Michel Pébereau comme directeur de la stratégie de la BNP, puis il prend la direction des marchés de capitaux de BNP Paribas et la présidence de Banque Directe.

En 2001, il devient directeur général de Wendel Investissement, société d’investissement familiale. S’inspirant des grandes firmes internationales d’investissement, il adapte la politique du groupe pour l’orienter vers des investissements plus porteurs de contrôle majoritaire à long terme, augmentant les résultats et le cours de l’action qui est ainsi multiplié par sept en six ans ; ses premiers succès le portent à la présidence du directoire du groupe en 2005.

Jean-Bernard Lafonta est un ancien élève de l’École polytechnique et ingénieur du corps des Mines de Paris.