Rafaut

Mission critical equipment for commercial and military aviation.


CEO : Bruno Berthet  | Turnover : 100 M€ | Investment in 2018

The arrival of HLD Europe as the majority shareholder marks the beginning of a new era for the company I started close to 60 years ago. This follows a first key step, which was the minority investment made three years ago by Aerofund III, a fund managed by ACE Management. Going forward, we will together help the company scale-up, which is now essential given the globalisation of its markets in both the commercial and defence sectors. I have full confidence in that HLD Europe, partnering with ACE Management, will provide the management team with the right backing to enable them to meet this challenge.
Jacques Rafaut, founder

Founded in the early 1940s, Rafaut is a French civil and defence aviation engineering group. In the civil engineering sector, Rafaut is a tier-one subcontractor for Airbus. In the defence sector, the company has extensive expertise in weapons stations under fighter aircraft. Its projects have included the design, development and manufacture of stations under the Rafale fighter aircraft for the French Ministry of Defence and Dassault Aviation.

In early 2019, Rafaut acquired AEds, a company specialising in the design, manufacture and assembly of mechanical sub-assemblies for the aviation industry (civil and defence). Following this acquisition, the group achieved turnover in the region of €100m and employs around 340 members of staff across 8 sites in France and at a subsidiary in Portugal. A digital factory is also under construction in Valenciennes.

The goal of HLD Europe and its co-shareholders is to support the group in a new phase of its development by helping it become the European benchmark for mission and hardpoint systems, expand its area of expertise and diversify the range of programmes in which it is positioned, and continue to make targeted acquisitions in both the civil and defence aviation sectors.

POSTS ABOUT RAFAUT

Rafaut

Spécialiste dans la mécanique aéronautique civile et de défense.


Président, Directeur Général : Bruno Berthet  | CA : 100 M€ | Investissement en 2018

L’arrivée d’HLD Europe comme actionnaire majoritaire est un nouveau départ pour le groupe que j’ai constitué il y a près de 60 ans. L’entrée d’Aerofund III géré par ACE Management à son capital, il y a 3 ans, était une première étape importante. Nous allons ensemble continuer à accompagner la société dans une évolution que la globalisation de ses marchés, dans le civil et la défense, rend désormais indispensable. Je fais toute confiance à HLD Europe accompagné d’ACE Management pour permettre à l’équipe de management de relever ce défi.
Jacques Rafaut, fondateur

Fondé au début des années 1940, Rafaut est un groupe français de mécanique aéronautique, civile et militaire. Dans le civil, Rafaut est notamment sous-traitant de rang 1 d’Airbus. Dans le militaire, Rafaut détient une rare expertise dans les matériels d’emport d’armement sous aéronefs de combat. Il a ainsi, entre autres, conçu, développé et fabriqué les systèmes d’emport de charges sous le Rafale pour le Ministère de la Défense français et pour Dassault Aviation.

Début 2019, Rafaut a fait l’acquisition d’AEds, société spécialisée dans la conception, la fabrication, et l’assemblage de sous-ensembles mécaniques pour l’industrie aéronautique (militaire et civile).

Suite à cette acquisition, le groupe réalise un chiffre d’affaires de l’ordre de 100 M€ et compte environ 340 salariés au sein de 8 sites en France et une filiale au Portugal. Une usine digitalisée est par ailleurs en cours de construction à Valenciennes.

L’ambition d’HLD Europe et de ses co-actionnaires est d’accompagner le groupe dans une nouvelle phase de sa croissance en l’aidant à devenir l’acteur européen de référence des équipements de mission et des systèmes d’emport, à élargir sa gamme de compétences et diversifier la base de programmes sur lesquels elle est positionnée et de continuer à réaliser des acquisitions ciblées à la fois dans les secteurs civil et défense.

ARTICLES SUR RAFAUT